The IVF Road

So we fiiiinaaally had our follow up appointment with our fertility doctor. Doc said after reviewing everything we’re clear of any diseases and all that jazz. I finally found out my blood type: A+. Hadn’t known my own blood type lol #fail. He also said despite what my insides have been through my ovaries look good. Unfortunately, because of the scarring our best option would be IVF; success rate would be around 60%.

Since I’m 31, they’d only implant 1 to 2 embryos which I’m fine with. Really don’t want to end up with quadruplets. Think my body would actually keel over if that were to happen. The whole prepping process is going to be taxing enough as it is.

Shots for controlling egg growth, a shot for controlling ovulation, uncomfortable side effects from such shots, a mock implantation, and all this day counting. Doesn’t sound so bad but—I fek’n HATE needles. My brain goes insane knowing that something sharp has impaled my skin. Yea, I’m an idiot that will occasionally and silently ball my eyes out while getting a shot. Though the crying usually happens when they use a needle that’s too big or have messed up a couple times because of how tiny my veins are. Ugh..the lingering pain I get whenever they poke the dang thing through… *shivers*

Anywho, before we hop on the test tube wagon, I’m going to talk with the financial coordinator. I want to know the upfront cost. I want to know if we can pay in installments. We were assured that if we do the one time implantation process that costs $10,000, we’d get out money back if the process fails. But I want to clarify if that means we get our money back if we don’t get a baby or if it means we only get our money back if I don’t actually get pregnant. I’m sure that I could get pregnant through this but what if there’s a miscarriage? Do we still get money back if that occurs?

So yea, fun times.

I need a permanent vacation…

Sincerely,
Jenn

One thought on “The IVF Road

Leave a Reply

