Urologist

Considering my last post, it seemed only right to search for a urologist. So, I asked my obgyn/surgeon who he could direct me to.

My bladder symptoms are a bit odd. [Reminder] I’m still dealing with bouts of bladder retention, persistent leukocytes, and the uncontrollable, intermittent Niagara Falls from my urethra. Fun times.

My obgyn/surgeon seems perplexed at how my bladder is behaving. He thinks it might be because I’m not producing enough estrogen for it to function correctly. How hilarious would that be? I had the curse of producing too much estrogen for years.

Anyways, he prescribed me some estrogen. He also prescribed me some calmer antibiotics until I can get things checked and resolved. I have an inkling that the sharp, pinch-like pain I felt from the second Foley catheter they had put in me might be playing a part in my bladder spasms and leukocytes. And I still feel that pain despite being catheter free for a week. Especially when I used a self-catheter.

What I’m not sure about, is what’s causing my bladder to be over-reactive? Is it the irritation and inflammation? Is there a nerve messing with it? Or was the removal of my presacral plexus playing into it? I’m PRAYING the urologist my doctor referred me to will help me and find the cause.

I was expecting to wait quite a bit to see the urologist. The lady on the phone said that he wouldn’t be available until the end of July. I sort of panicked and said that my issue seems to be getting worse so if there’s any possible chance to get seen I would take it. First she said she’d put me on the list to move up the line when someone cancelled their appointment. And then she suggested a different urologist. As she was doing so, out of nowhere, there’s an opening for tomorrow morning!

My brain was like GO GO GO!!

Appointment set. Then next issue arose. I was told to bring all my medical information with me to the appointment. Assuming the only relevant information was at the obgyn, I moved quickly.

So I requested, well more like pleaded, if I could get my medical info today from the obgyn clinic. And bless them, they helped me get my stuff same day. I signed the release form, drove over to the clinic when the papers were printed and ready, and paid the fee.

Pure relief. Just complete peace right now that it all worked out in such a short time.

Fingers crossed that tomorrow leads to finding the answers to my urological issues. 🤞 

Sincerely,
Jenn

Leave a comment